Skip to content

Whole Foods – Experts in Food?

May 4, 2012

Sometimes people and companies should just stick to what they know – marketing. Marketing does not make an expert, even though they give out advice as if they are…if the advice is wrong it’s still wrong!

Recently in the comments of an article I found the following comment: “Rabbit should be everywhere but farmed rabbit needs antibiotics due to them being vile dirty rodents (I was told this by a Whole Foods employee after asking if they carried rabbit.).”

I touched on the difference between rabbits and rodents yesterday – totally different animals. Put a chicken bone in with a rat or mouse (rodents) and they will devour it. Rabbits don’t – save for the doe that occasionally attacks her offspring, rabbits are herbivores – they eat plants! Alfalfa, grass hay, pellets (from plant sources), grains – no bones, no diet like rodents do.

Perhaps those at Whole Foods need to visit some meat rabbits. They would see that rabbits are not “vile dirty rodents” and they do not rely on antibiotics for survival!

The Whole Foods Market chain needs volume, just like restaurants and other stores, to fill customers needs. Their core values they talk about seem to raise questions. They say “We are committed to honesty, timeliness and clarity in communicating with our suppliers and we expect the same in return.” I wonder – at what point does this honesty and clarity in communication happen? If it isn’t there at the store level then how can one expect different if a supplier?

Direct purchase gives you the most control over your food, short of growing it yourself. You can choose a variety of options and find a farm that grows the way you prefer. Misinformation doesn’t help anyone, and discrediting an entire group of farmers is not upholding core values of “honesty” or ‘ethics’.

Increasingly people are seeing marketing claims aren’t what they seem to be. Don’t let marketing be your food facts folks. Expert marketers can be biased too, and give inaccurate information.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2012 1:26 PM

    reminds me of my x mother inlaw trying to tell me free range chickens were unsafe while she stuffed her mouth with chicken nuggets from mcDonalds

    • May 4, 2012 10:48 PM

      I figure it comes to basics. 1. We’re all going to die someday. 2. Most of us would like to delay that as long as possible. 3. If we don’t eat anything it won’t delay death, but makes it much more uncomfortable. 4. Food choices is a personal matter. I prefer to make and offer choices – but at the same time, I don’t expect everyone to choose the same. I don’t claim ‘home raised’ eggs are safer because we don’t test to know if they are or are not. However, I can say we’ve never gotten sick from them. 🙂

  2. May 5, 2012 12:40 AM

    I’ve found that a lot of the “experts” in many fields just try to feed you whatever garbage will sell the most product. This seems to be particularly rampant in the natural food industry and the pet food industry. These days I do my own research and make the best choices I can for myself and my pets, regardless of what others try to tell me. I’m looking to source more and more of my meat locally so I know exactly what I’m getting. Thanks for a great post!

  3. May 8, 2012 8:44 AM

    Marketers will twist anything, and I mean anything, into their favour by carefully selecting choice words, leaving things open to interpertation etc.
    I’m always very careful when someone tries to sell me something. If they don’t answer a direct question with a direct answer, then I usually don’t buy it.

    • May 8, 2012 9:39 PM

      And when that direct question is met by a repeated “whenever possible” it tells me there’s something being covered up. 🙂 Kinda like the half inch of microscopic print in ads with claims too good to be true.

Leave a Reply

