Skip to content

Eat Move Sleep Live

October 10, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEarlier in the week I mentioned getting healthy. Little changes. Health issues. Most of us are not going to go out and run a marathon. We don’t have an interest in body building or obsessing with working out.

So some time ago I had a chance to preview a book called Eat Move Sleep via NetGalley. I peruse for health books, food or cooking books and other books to pass along here and beyond. This looked interesting. There are pages of recommendations of how good this guy is, and how popular on lists. Blah. That shows there’s good marketing. Doesn’t say that he knows what he’s talking about or that he should be believed.

Honestly, I know some of my readers will be inflamed by this book. I nearly sat it down unfinished with talk of poisons in our food – rah rah rah you farmers are evil fill in the blank. I stopped. Breath. Picked it up again.

Read in context. This is a guy who faced a condition that affects one in 4.4 million people. “This mutation essentially shuts off a powerful tumor suppressor gene and leads to rampant cancerous grown throughout the body.” Ok if facing the possibility of cancer throughout the body, things that may well be unhealthy for you and I may well be poison for him.

He goes on to clarify:

Let me be clear. I am not a doctor. Nor am I an expert on nutrition, exercise physiology, or sleep disorders. I am just a patient. I also happen to be a researcher and voracious reader who loves to extract valuable findings and share them with friends.

Context. Perspective. I don’t agree, still, on many points made, but I do think that there are many good points that make it worth reading. Keep in mind that this is an opinion. No more than yours or mine. It’s what worked for him, and may work for us, and a series of small changes. It comes down to, as the title says, “Eat Move Sleep.”

Eat – pay attention to what you eat and how much.

Sleep – get sufficient rest. No more excuses – a full night to recharge. Sleep is a vital part of health.

Move. Exercise. Get the heart rate up.

Beyond the occasional disagreement on a point, there’s some good tips here. I’ll mention them from time to time on the blog here. There’s an entire website set up at www.eatmovesleep.org and links to much additional information. Keep an open mind.

Sprinkled through the book – here’s five random tips for those reading my earlier blog post on health. Hopefully you’ve gotten your blood pressure checked. You’ve got your water intake increasing. Small changes.

Some others:

  • Eliminate one hour per day of sitting time. Walk on the treadmill for television time, or take a walk with the dog.
  • Put the healthiest food in your home at eye level or in a bowl on the counter. You’re more apt to grab it for a healthier snack.
  • Identify sugar content in your food – if it’s more than 10g find a substitute. Reducing sugar helps with health.
  • When you walk into the store or farmer’s market, load up on colorful selections. Add color to your diet.
  • Alter your sleep time – extending by 15 minutes until you feel rested. Avoid ‘busy’ activities before bed to help with a more restful sleep.

These are all small things – try them out. Each one is a healthy step. There’s many tips in this book, some we’ve all heard before but in a different way. These are doable for all of us.

Let’s get healthier.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2013 7:24 PM

    Reblogged this on Slow Money Food and commented:

    A shared post from our sister blog. Get healthy – common sense lifestyle changes. No diets – the first part of that word is die. Let’s live!

  2. October 12, 2013 7:49 AM

    Great post and thanks for sharing. I’m a total believer of this message – I can’t believe I ever used to eat sugary junk food full of additives and feel like I was “treating” myself – what a joke! Now I love eating healthily (which still means tasty!) and finding alternatives that are actually nutritious – like chocolate mousse made from avocados and bananas rather than rubbish. Moving more is going to be my next big focus. Sleep – I have that sorted : )

    • October 14, 2013 2:19 PM

      Thanks for stopping by! Balance, food choices – we think these things are important but health is a core thing! I do posts on simplicity and such as it fits with the choices made by many folks, including our customers!

Leave a Reply

