Skip to content

The Way It Was – & Still Ought To Be

May 18, 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARecently a friend posted something on Facebook that was too good to not share.

This is all that’s left of an old barn I wanted to scavenge off of. Sadly it’s too far gone. I walked around it and imagined it in its day. Imagined a rooster crowing at sunrise . Imagined the old man in overalls making his way down to it with a milk pail in his hand. I could almost hear the jersey cow softly moo as he led her around and got her in place. Hear the milk stool creak under his weight as he sat down and began to milk. The first streams of milk ring out in the morning light when they hit the bottom of that empty pail. See the tom cat jump from the loft after a night of chasing rats. The little calf in its stall bellows lowly as if to tell the old man to leave some milk for it. Finally I imagine the old man hanging his stool back up and hear the hens fuss as he reaches in their nest for the morning eggs. He cuts off a piece of salt pork that hangs in the smoke house and heads back to the house. He can smell the biscuits now and his stomach growls a little as he anticipates the hearty breakfast his family is about to enjoy. All made from the work of their hands and by the blessings of God. It worries me a little as I ponder about a generation we have raised that wouldn’t even know how to start to do any of the things done back then. All the knowledge and convenience we have gained has come at the cost of all the knowledge and self preservation we had. – Randy Carter
Many read the above and see it as once long ago. I read it and it could still be. As we set up our farm expansion, it’s with the same spirit of this old barn. Old barns have character.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMetal barns are clean, efficient. But old wooden barns, shelters and other sheds that are less appealing visually but functional – they have character. They whisper of births, deaths, tears and prayers spoken early in the morning and late at night. It recalls the wins and the losses, the happy and the sad.
How many are deprived of such things for indulgent comfort? There’s nothing wrong with being comfortable, but should we become complacent? Should we strive to not continue learning, building, growing because of the illusion someone will help us? Sometimes they do. Some pray to God for help but must be alert for the help He sends. Sometimes the someone He sends is you.
And He told them a parable, saying, “The land of a rich man was very productive. “And he began reasoning to himself, saying, `What shall I do, since I have no place to store my crops?’ “Then he said, `This is what I will do: I will tear down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. Luke 12:16-21

Abundance is good – He promises that. He also instructs sharing what we have. Not just building bigger barns, more volume but helping people. It’s what we’ve been blessed to help with the sponsorships – reaching others.

We’d like to teach more, reach more. That will come, we hope, soon. Prayers welcome. The past shouldn’t just be the past. The whispers in those barns should be alive still, for without it we’re all in trouble.
Tune in, don’t tune out.

And He told them a parable, saying, “The land of a rich man was very productive. “And he began reasoning to himself, saying, `What shall I do, since I have no place to store my crops?’ “Then he said, `This is what I will do: I will tear down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods.  – See more at: http://bible.knowing-jesus.com/topics/Farmers#sthash.hxc6l02a.dpuf
And He told them a parable, saying, “The land of a rich man was very productive. “And he began reasoning to himself, saying, `What shall I do, since I have no place to store my crops?’ “Then he said, `This is what I will do: I will tear down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods.  – See more at: http://bible.knowing-jesus.com/topics/Farmers#sthash.hxc6l02a.dpuf
And He told them a parable, saying, “The land of a rich man was very productive. “And he began reasoning to himself, saying, `What shall I do, since I have no place to store my crops?’ “Then he said, `This is what I will do: I will tear down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods.  – See more at: http://bible.knowing-jesus.com/topics/Farmers#sthash.hxc6l02a.dpufL
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

