Skip to content

Just Christian – Ag in the Bible

July 27, 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA“Religious conversion” sounds like something akin to joining a cult. Some perceive it as such I guess but it’s more a relationship than a group. I grew up with a basis in the Catholic church from a very young age. As I got older church was something done at Christmas and Easter. Then in time it took on a bigger meaning.

When the topic of religion comes up it seems Christian isn’t enough for some. I’m just Christian. I believe in Him. Sacrifices…not really. No more than sacrifices of not doing something because of a friend’s relationship.

I don’t see Christians as perfect. There’s nothing we can *do* to replace the gift of salvation. We can’t outgive. And we often don’t deserve it. There are many times little things would happen that challenged me. I recall a time in Washington state I was in a wooded area on my Appaloosa mare. She was nervous about crossing over a log and as I pressed her forward I said “come on Sierra where’s your faith?” and as if a response it came “where’s yours?” Not that the horse spoke of course but there was definitely an impression.

Jesus isn’t a dictator. Some look at the Bible and say it’s full of rules of what you can and can’t do. I suppose that’s one way to look at it. Others say that life should come with a guide book – well we have one when we choose to refer to it!

There are relevant passages in the Bible about everything we face. Times have changed but people not so much. There’s always been good and bad. There’s many who sit in a pew every Sunday but never opened their heart to His word. There’s others who have but perhaps don’t get to church as often as they should.

A time attending the Vineyard in Cincinnati Ohio brought much of the Word to life. It’s not about the music or the number of times per week one attends church. I’ve heard story after story of people who came to the Monday night groups because someone months earlier gave them a can of soda or a newspaper or wrapped their gifts or washed their windshield.

It’s here where I met and heard the remarkable story of Steve Sjogren and his worship team. How I ended up there can only be described as His guidance. It’s at the Vineyard I was introduced to Servefest and a new means of reaching people. Walk into a small business and introduce yourself and ask to clean the bathrooms. Say what? Are you nuts?! I’ll never forget the gal at the video store that as we left said “what kind of church ARE you?!”

It was more than “things” – it was making connections. He came to deliver us from what we deserve…it seems the least we can do is recognize that he paid for what he didn’t do. Whether we believe or not doesn’t change reality and we don’t see everything.

Much as adults see more than children do so He sees more than I. I don’t have to be perfect. But I sure don’t have to go out of my way to do harm either. I believe He knows my intentions and understands way more than I. It’s a relief. It’s an acceptance. Just Christian works for me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

